Direct Selling in Hong Kong

Direct selling was first developed in the United States after the Second World War and the idea came to Hong Kong in the seventies. According to the Global Direct Selling Statistics 2015 of the World Federation of Direct Selling Associations, direct selling companies operate in more than 60 countries with over 132 million of distributors working in the industry and generated a total global sales amount of US$183.7 billion.

The Direct Selling Association of Hong Kong

Established in 1979, the Direct Selling Association of Hong Kong Limited (HKDSA) is a trade association of person-to-person marketing companies in Hong Kong. HKDSA is a member of the World Federation of Direct Selling Associations. One of the main objectives of establishing the Hong Kong Direct Selling Association is to provide a feasible and self-disciplined consumer protection scheme through raising the business ethics of direct selling companies so as to protect the interest of the general public.

Amway Hong Kong is a member of HKDSA. According the WFDSA data of 2012, there are over 301,000 active Distributors under HKDSA (website: www.hkdsa.org.hk) and the sales amount generated is around HK$4.13 billion. Angela Keung, now Vice President, Sales of Greater China of Amway, was elected President of HKDSA from 2002 to 2008. Louisa Chan, General Manager of Amway Hong Kong, has been elected as President of HKDSA from 2012 to 2016.

香港直銷發展

直銷起源於第二次世界大戰後的美國,直至七十年代才開始在香港發展。根據世界直銷協會聯盟2015年全球直銷業統計數字,直銷公司在全球超過60個國家營運,有1.18億人從事直銷工作,營業額達1,929億美元。

香港直銷協會

香港直銷協會於1979年成立,由香港一些直接銷售產品或提供服務予顧客的公司共同組成,是世界直銷協會聯盟的正式會員。香港直銷協會成立的主要目的之一,是透過提高直銷業的商業道德,提供可行而自律性的消費者保障計劃,以保障公眾利益。

安利(香港)為香港直銷協會的成員公司之一。根據世界直銷協會聯盟2018年的統計數字,香港直銷協會(網址:www.hkdsa.org.hk)轄下的活躍直銷商超過21萬1千人,銷售額達29億港元。於2002至2008年期間,安利大中華區業務副總裁姜張麗青女士出任協會會長一職;於2012年至2016年期間,安利(香港)總經理陳呂淑琼女士出任協會會長一職。